European Passports: An EU passport is a passport issued by one of the 27 member states of the European Union and allows you to travel visa-free between all EU countries, and to a large number of third-countries the EU has bilateral agreements with.

How to get one

There are three common ways to acquire EU citizenship as a non-EU citizen.

  • Just soli (English: right of ground) – through your place of birth
  • jus sanguinis (English: right of blood) – through ancestry and descent
  • naturalization – through residence
Passports in Europe are issued by each state individually, e.g. the Netherlands or UK. In general, passports issued in Europe either grant the holder the right of freedom of movement within the European Economic Area

Showing all 7 results